2013 Director’s Community Leadership Awards

Miami Constance Collins

Director Comey and Constance Collins

High-resolution image

The Miami Division honors Constance Collins, founder of the Sundari Foundation, Inc., a non-profit organization dedicated to promoting the education, advancement, and social inclusion of poor, disadvantaged, and homeless women and children.

In 2004, Ms. Collins established the Lotus House, a temporary residential shelter that provides women and children with the tools necessary to improve their quality of life, achieve greater self-sufficiency, and transition to more stable housing. Through her network of contacts, Ms. Collins has leveraged additional resources to provide basic health screenings, immunizations, and HIV testing for Lotus House women and children, and has extended this support to other residents that live near the shelter. To date, the Lotus House has served more than 650 homeless women and infants and has provided basic vaccinations for many local residents.

The Sundari Foundation is working to provide additional space to expand the Lotus House’s efforts to house more women and children.


FBI Director Recognizes
Distinguished Community Leaders
Director’s Community Leadership Awards

In a ceremony at FBI Headquarters on April 4, 2014, Director James B. Comey recognized the recipients of the 2013 Director’s Community Leadership Award. These leaders, selected by their area FBI field office, have demonstrated outstanding contributions to their local communities through service. The FBI is grateful for the work of each of these individuals and organizations on behalf of their communities.

“This year’s honorees have distinguished themselves in remarkable ways through their hard work, their leadership, and their strength of character,” said Director Comey. “They are ordinary citizens, but what they have accomplished is nothing short of extraordinary.”

Recipients of the 2013 Director’s Community Leadership Award are:

- Albany
- Albuquerque
- Anchorage
- Atlanta
- Baltimore
- Birmingham
- Boston
- Buffalo
- Charlotte
- Chicago
- Cincinnati
- Cleveland
- Columbia
- Dallas
- Denver
- Detroit
- El Paso
- Honolulu
- Houston
- Indianapolis
- Jackson
- Jacksonville
- Kansas City
- Knoxville
- Las Vegas
- Little Rock
- Los Angeles
- Louisville
- Memphis

- Milwaukee
- Minneapolis
- Mobile
- New Haven
- New Orleans
- New York
- Newark
- Norfolk
- Oklahoma City
- Omaha
- Philadelphia
- Phoenix
- Pittsburgh
- Portland
- Richmond
- Sacramento
- Salt Lake City
- San Antonio
- San Diego
- San Francisco
- San Juan
- Seattle
- Springfield
- St. Louis
- Tampa
- Washington Field
Office of Public Affairs 

Read related story on 2013 Director’s Community Leadership Awards ceremony