El Paso

2013 Director’s Community Leadership Awards

El Paso Patricia Scott

Director Comey and Patricia Scott

High-resolution image

The El Paso Division honors Patricia Scott, an educator and community activist whose tenacity exposed illegal activity within the El Paso Independent School District (EPISD).

For 16 years, Ms. Scott was a counselor at Bowie High School in El Paso’s Segundo Barrio, just across the border from Juarez, Mexico. As a high school special education transition specialist, Ms. Scott worked to implement a transition process for students with disabilities to acclimate to work and community living. She furthered the effort by providing work experience skills and facilitating community travel needs and agency referral needs of special education students.

In 2009, she was surprised to find that dozens of students who should have become sophomores were being retained in the ninth grade after course credits they had earned the year before had been removed from their transcripts. Ms. Scott ultimately uncovered that EPISD officials were illegally manipulating enrollment in the district’s limited English proficiency program. As a result of her actions, individuals involved in the illegal activity were held accountable.

Ms. Scott has received many accolades for her work and dedication to students in the EPISD.


FBI Director Recognizes
Distinguished Community Leaders
Director’s Community Leadership Awards

In a ceremony at FBI Headquarters on April 4, 2014, Director James B. Comey recognized the recipients of the 2013 Director’s Community Leadership Award. These leaders, selected by their area FBI field office, have demonstrated outstanding contributions to their local communities through service. The FBI is grateful for the work of each of these individuals and organizations on behalf of their communities.

“This year’s honorees have distinguished themselves in remarkable ways through their hard work, their leadership, and their strength of character,” said Director Comey. “They are ordinary citizens, but what they have accomplished is nothing short of extraordinary.”

Recipients of the 2013 Director’s Community Leadership Award are:

- Albany
- Albuquerque
- Anchorage
- Atlanta
- Baltimore
- Birmingham
- Boston
- Buffalo
- Charlotte
- Chicago
- Cincinnati
- Cleveland
- Columbia
- Dallas
- Denver
- Detroit
- El Paso
- Honolulu
- Houston
- Indianapolis
- Jackson
- Jacksonville
- Kansas City
- Knoxville
- Las Vegas
- Little Rock
- Los Angeles
- Louisville
- Memphis

- Milwaukee
- Minneapolis
- Mobile
- New Haven
- New Orleans
- New York
- Newark
- Norfolk
- Oklahoma City
- Omaha
- Philadelphia
- Phoenix
- Pittsburgh
- Portland
- Richmond
- Sacramento
- Salt Lake City
- San Antonio
- San Diego
- San Francisco
- San Juan
- Seattle
- Springfield
- St. Louis
- Tampa
- Washington Field
Office of Public Affairs 

Read related story on 2013 Director’s Community Leadership Awards ceremony