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Compact Council User Fee Survey 
Summary 

 
The following is a summary of the responses to the Compact Council User Fee Survey of 
January 2005.  The Survey is attached at the end of this document for your information. 

 
Part One 

  
Name Checks in state database via local Law Enforcement Terminal 

 Of the twenty-one states that responded stating they conducted name checks in the 
state database via the local enforcement terminal thirteen states allow for all 
records to be provided, (Alaska, Georgia, Hawaii, Illinois, Indiana, Maryland, 
Michigan, Mississippi, New Hampshire, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Rhode 
Island, and Washington) 

 
 Seven states, (Arkansas, Minnesota, Nevada, New Jersey, New York, South 

Carolina, and Wisconsin) exclude some records.  
 

 Kansas didn’t specify how many records were provided, and Arkansas didn’t 
specify a fee.  

 
 Twelve states reported their state charged no fee for name checks, (Illinois, 

Indiana, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, New Hampshire, New 
Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Oklahoma,  and Washington) 

 
 Rhode Island and Wisconsin both charge a fee of $5 

 
 South Carolina charges the highest fee of $25, Alaska and Nevada charge $20, 

and Hawaii charges $10. 
 

 Kansas reported their fees ranged from $5 - $17.50.  
 
 
Name Checks in state database using a form submitted to the repository 

 Of the thirty-two states that responded stating that they conducted name checks 
through a form submitted to the repository eight states allow for all records to be 
provided, (Arizona, Florida, Hawaii, Idaho, Mississippi, New Mexico, North 
Carolina, and Oklahoma) 

 
 Twenty-three states exclude records when doing a name check, (Alabama, 

Arkansas, Connecticut, Illinois, Indiana, Louisiana, Maine, Massachusetts, 
Michigan, Minnesota, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New 
York, North Dakota, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Tennessee, Utah, Virginia, 
Washington, and Wisconsin) 

 
 Kansas and Maryland didn’t specify. 
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 Fee’s ranging from $0 to $10 are charged in twelve states, (Arizona, Idaho, 
Indiana, Maryland, Michigan, Nebraska, New Mexico, New York, North 
Carolina, Pennsylvania,  Utah, and Washington) 

 
 Fee’s ranging from $11 to $20 are charged in eight states, (Arkansas, Hawaii, 

Illinois, Nevada, New Jersey, Oklahoma, Virginia, and Wisconsin) 
 

 Fee’s ranging from $21 to $30 are charged in eight states, (Alabama, Connecticut, 
Florida, Louisiana, Maine, North Dakota, South Carolina, and Tennessee) 

 
 Connecticut has no charge if it is a state, federal, or municipal fingerprint search, 

and they only charge $18 for volunteers which the FBI collects.  
 

 Illinois only charges $10 if it is an electronic request, but $16 if the request was 
mailed in. 

 
 New Hampshire’s fees range from $5-$15 

 
 North Dakota has the $30 fee for most requests, but only charges $3 for non profit 

charity exclusively for the benefit of minors.  
 

 Virginia charges $15 for CCH request and SOR requests individually, but if they 
are requested together the charge is $20. 

 
 Kansas reported their fees ranged from $15 for a caregiver search and $20 for a 

non-caregiver search, Minnesota’s fees ranged from $0 - $15.  
 
 
Name Search: Candidates verified by fingerprint comparison\ 

 Of the twenty-eight states that responded stating that they conducted a name 
search where the candidates are verified by fingerprint comparison nine states 
allow for all records to be provided, (Arizona, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Indiana, 
North Carolina, Rhode Island, South Dakota, and Utah) 

 
 Fourteen states exclude some records when doing a name search where the 

candidate are verified by fingerprint comparison, (California, Connecticut, 
Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Minnesota, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, 
Ohio, South Carolina, Tennessee, Washington, and Wisconsin) 

 
 Delaware, Florida, Maryland, Nebraska, New Hampshire, North Dakota, and 

Wyoming didn’t specify 
 

 The fee for name searches by fingerprint comparison ranges from $0 to $10 in 
five states, (Arizona, Idaho, Indiana, Maryland, and Utah) 
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 Fee’s ranging from $11 to $20 are charged in six states, (Georgia, North Carolina, 
Ohio, South Dakota, Wisconsin, and Wyoming) 

 
 Fee’s ranging from $21 to $30 are charged in twelve states, (Connecticut, 

Delaware, Florida, Hawaii, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Nevada, North Dakota, 
Rhode Island, South Carolina, and Washington) 

 
 California’s fees ranged from $32-$52. Minnesota’s fees ranged from $0 - $15. 

Nebraska’s fee is $33, and Tennessee charges $56 for applicant processing which 
includes the $22 FBI fee, state, and vendor fee, but then charges $48 if the 
applicant mails in the fingerprint card.     

 
 
Name Search: AFIS search if no valid name candidates 

 Of the nineteen states that responded stating that they conducted a technical AFIS 
search with no valid dame candidates six states allow for all records to be 
provided, (Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Indiana, New Hampshire and South Dakota) 

 
 Ten states responded saying they exclude some records when doing an AFIS 

search, (California, Connecticut, Louisiana, Michigan, Nevada, Ohio, South 
Carolina, Tennessee, Washington, and Wisconsin). 

 
 Minnesota didn’t specify, but stated that there was no fee associated. New 

Hampshire didn’t specify a fee.  
 

 Idaho and Indiana both charge $10 to do an AFIS search with no valid name 
candidates. 

 
 Georgia, Ohio, South Dakota, Wisconsin, and Wyoming all charge $15 to do an 

AFIS search with no valid name candidates. 
 

 Fee’s ranging from $20 to $33 are charged in seven states, (Connecticut, Hawaii, 
Louisiana, Nebraska, Nevada, South Carolina, and Washington). 

 
 California’s fees range from $32-$52.  Tennessee charges $56 for applicant 

processing which includes the $22 FBI fee, state, and vendor fee, but then charges 
$48 if the applicant mails in the fingerprint card.  

 
 
Technical Search: AFIS search without a prior name search 

 Of the seventeen states that responded stating that they do conduct AFIS searches 
without prior name searches, six reported that all records are provided, (Hawaii, 
Illinois, Mississippi, New Hampshire, Ohio, and Rhode Island). 
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 Eight states reported that some records are excluded when doing an AFIS search 
without prior name searches, (Arkansas, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Nevada, 
South Carolina, Washington, and Wisconsin). 

 
 New York didn’t specify how many records are provided, although they reported 

that they charge a fee of $75 
 

 Michigan and Mississippi do not charge a fee when doing an AFIS search without 
a prior name search. 

 
 New Hampshire didn’t specify a fee.  

 
 Fee’s ranging from $15 to $25 are charged in nine states, (Arkansas, Hawaii, 

Illinois, Maryland, Nevada, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Washington, and 
Wisconsin). 

 
 Louisiana charges $50, Maine charges $49, Nebraska charges $33, and Oklahoma 

charges $41 to conduct an AFIS search without a prior name search. 
 
 
Technical SEARCH: AFIS search only if prints are not going to FBI CJIS 

 Of the seventeen states that responded stating that they conduct AFIS searches 
only if the prints are not going to FBI CJIS, five states reported that all records 
were provided, (Hawaii, Indiana, Mississippi, New Hampshire and Oklahoma). 

 
 Eight states reported that some records are excluded, (Alabama, Illinois, 

Louisiana, Maine, Nevada, South Carolina, Washington, and Wisconsin). 
 

 Connecticut, Kansas, Maryland, Nebraska and New Hampshire didn’t specify.   
 

 Mississippi and South Dakota charged no fee 
 

 Indiana and Nebraska both charged $10 
 

 Fee’s ranging from $15 to $25 are charged in ten states, (Alabama, Connecticut, 
Hawaii, Illinois, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Nevada, Oklahoma, Washington, 
and Wisconsin). 

 
 Kansas charges $20 for caregiver search, and $30 for a non-caregiver search.  

 
 
Fingerprints Retained and Added to AFIS database: Rap sheet sent if applicant is 
subsequently arrested 

 Of the twelve states that responded, eight reported that some of the records were 
excluded, (Alabama, Connecticut, Illinois, Louisiana, Main, Maryland, New 
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Jersey and Utah). Oklahoma and Virginia reported that all their records are 
released.  Nebraska didn’t specify.  

 
 Connecticut, Illinois, Louisiana, Maryland, Nebraska, Oklahoma,  reported they 

do not charge a fee to retain these fingerprints.  
 

 Utah charges $5, and Maine charges $24 for possible FBI/CJIS submissions, and 
$25 for prints to be retained. New Jersey charges $54 

 
 Alabama and Virginia didn’t specify a fee. 

 
 
Fingerprints Retained and Added to AFIS database: Notification of subsequent 
arrest (no rap sheet sent) 

 Of the ten states that responded, six states reported that some records were 
excluded, (Alabama, Alaska, California, Maryland, New Jersey and New York).  
North Carolina and Virginia release all records.  Louisiana and Nebraska didn’t 
specify.  

 
 There is no charge for notification of subsequent arrest in three states, (Alaska, 

Louisiana, Maryland, North Carolina).   
 

 California’s fees range from $32-$52. 
 

 Nebraska charges $33 and New Jersey’s charge is $54. 
 

 Alabama , New York, Virginia didn’t specify a fee 
 
 
Fingerprints Retained and Added to AFIS database: No resubmission of prints by 
applicant as part of periodic recertification or license renewal 

 Alaska, Illinois, and Mississippi reported that all records would be provided.  
Maryland, Maine, and New Jersey report that some records are excluded.  
California and Utah didn’t specify. 

 
 Maryland has no fee associated with no resubmission of prints. 

 
 Alaska charges $20, Illinois’s - $4, New Jersey - $30, Mississippi and Utah 

charge $5. 
 

 California’s fees range from $32-52 
 

 Maine didn’t specify a fee. 
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Fingerprints Retained and Added to AFIS database: A single set of retained prints 
can be used as the basis for notifying multiple agencies of a subsequent arrest 

 Illinois, Louisiana, New Jersey, and New York reported that during this search 
some records are excluded. 

 
 New Hampshire reported that all records are provided, however they did not 

specify a fee.  
 
 Illinois and Louisiana responded stating their charge is $0.  New Jersey charges 

$64, and New York didn’t specify a fee. 
 

 
Applicant processing includes: Search of state sex offender registry 

 Seven states responded saying that all records are released, (Arizona, New 
Mexico, Ohio, Oklahoma, Tennessee, Virginia, and Washington).  Eight states 
responded saying that some records are excluded, (Arkansas, Hawaii, Nebraska, 
Nevada, New Jersey, New York, South Carolina, and South Dakota) 

 
 Maine, Louisiana, New Jersey, and South Dakota reported that they have no fee 

associated with a SOR search. 
 

 Rhode Island charges $5, Georgia charges $10, Ohio and Wyoming charge $15, 
Nevada charges $20, Nebraska charges $33, and Virginia charges $37.  

 
 Arizona, Arkansas, New Mexico, New York, Oklahoma, South Carolina, 

Tennessee, and Washington didn’t specify a fee.  
 
 
Applicant processing includes: Search of state want/warrant file 

 Five states responded saying that all records were released, (New York, North 
Carolina, Ohio, South Carolina, and Tennessee).  Eight states reported that some 
records were excluded, (Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Nebraska, Nevada, New 
Jersey, South Dakota, and Utah) Louisiana, Rhode Island, and Wyoming didn’t 
specify. 

 
 Louisiana, New Jersey, South Dakota reported that they do not charge a fee. 

 
 Rhode Island charges $5, Ohio and Wyoming charge $15, and Nebraska charges 

$33. 
 

 Utah charges $10 and $15.  Nevada’s fees range from $20-25.  
 

 Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, New York, North Carolina, South Carolina, and 
Tennessee didn’t specify a fee. 
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Applicant processing includes: Search of state order of protection file 
 Arizona and Tennessee both reported that all records are released; however, they 

did not specify a fee.  
 

 Louisiana does not charge a fee for this search; however, they did not specify how 
many records were released. New Jersey reports that they do not charge a fee for 
this search and stated that some records are excluded.  

 
 Rhode Island charges $5, but did not specify the release of records, and Wyoming 

charges $15 and also did not specify the release of records.  
 

 Nebraska charges $33 and excludes some records.  
 

 Nevada reports that their fee’s range from $20-25, and some records are excluded.  
 
 
Part Two 
 
State’s general fund 

 Ten states reported that all fees go to the states general fund, (Connecticut, 
Georgia, Indiana, Maryland, Massachusetts, North Carolina, North Dakota, 
Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, and Wyoming) 

 
 Twelve states reported that some of the fees go to the states general fund, (Alaska, 

Arkansas, Delaware, Maine, Michigan, Minnesota, New York, South Carolina, 
Utah, Virginia, Washington, and Wisconsin) 

 
 
Repository or agencies that are supported by all or some fees 

 Identification/criminal history operations  
Twenty-five states reported that some or all fees support Identification/criminal 
history operations staff, (Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, California, Florida, Hawaii, 
Idaho, Illinois, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Minnesota, Nebraska, Nevada, New 
Hampshire, New Jersey, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, South Dakota, 
Tennessee, Utah, Washington, and Wisconsin) 

 
 IT Staff 

Fifteen states reported that some or all fees support the IT staff, (Alaska, 
Arkansas, California, Florida, Hawaii, Illinois, Minnesota, Nebraska, Nevada, 
New Hampshire, New Jersey, Oklahoma, Tennessee, Virginia, and Wisconsin) 

 
 Sex offender registry  

Eleven states reported that some or all fees support the sex offender registry staff, 
(Arkansas, California, Florida, Idaho, Louisiana, Maine, Nebraska, Nevada, South 
Dakota, Virginia, and Washington) 
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 Trainers (within agency) 
Fourteen states reported that some or all fees support the agencies training staff, 
(Alaska, Arkansas, California, Louisiana, Minnesota, Nebraska, Nevada, New 
Hampshire, Oklahoma, Oregon, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, and Washington) 

 
 Trainers/field personnel who provide services to other agencies 

Twelve states reported that some or all fees support the field personnel, (Alaska, 
Arkansas, California, Idaho, Louisiana, Minnesota, Nebraska, Nevada, Oklahoma, 
Oregon, Utah, and Washington) 

 
 National Instant Checks (NICS)/State firearms licensing staff 

Nine states reported that some or all fees support the NICS/State firearms 
licensing staff, (Florida, Illinois, Michigan, Minnesota, Nebraska, Nevada, 
Oklahoma, Oregon and Utah) 

 
 NCIC staff 

Florida, Nebraska and Oklahoma reported that some or all fees support their 
NCIC staff.  
 

 UCR/NIBRS 
Seven states reported that some or all fees support their UCR/NIBRS staff, 
(Arkansas, Florida, Minnesota, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire and 
Oklahoma) 

 
 Audit 

Eleven states reported that some or all fees support their audit staff, (Alaska, 
Arkansas, California, Florida, Illinois, Minnesota, Nebraska, Nevada, Oklahoma, 
Washington, and Wisconsin) 

 
 Other repository/agency staff 

Seventeen states reported that some or all fees support some other type of 
repository/agency staff, (Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Florida, Idaho, 
Louisiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Nebraska, Nevada, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, 
South Dakota, Tennessee, and Washington)  Idaho states that it supports their 
missing persons clearinghouse. 

 
 AFIS Maintenance 

Fourteen states reported that some or all fees support their AFIS maintenance, 
(Alabama, Alaska, California, Florida, Illinois, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New 
Jersey, Oklahoma, Oregon, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, and Washington) 

 
 AFIS Upgrades 

Fifteen states reported that some or all fees support their AFIS upgrades, 
(Alabama, California, Florida, Idaho, Maine, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New 
Jersey, New York, Oklahoma, Oregon, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, and 
Washington) 
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 Livescan Maintenance  
Thirteen states reported that some or all fees support their livescan maintenance, 
(Alabama, Alaska, California, Florida, Idaho, Nebraska, Nevada, New 
Hampshire, New Jersey, Oklahoma, Oregon, Tennessee, and Washington) 

 
 Livescan Upgrades 

Thirteen states reported that some or all fees support their livescan upgrades, 
(Alabama, California, Florida, Idaho, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New 
Jersey, New York, Oklahoma, Oregon, Tennessee, and Washington) 

 
 Statewide Law Enforcement Information Network 

Four states reported that some or all fees support their statewide law enforcement 
information network, (Alaska, California, Nevada and New York).  

 
 Five states reported that their state had additional expenses supported by some or 

all of the fees. 
o Georgia’s fees support consultant work, CJIS, LAN, and computer 

hardware/software.  
o Illinois’s fees support commodities/printing, equipment, personnel 

services, contractual obligations, and travel. 
o Louisiana’s fees support all of the Bureau’s expenses. 
o Michigan’s fees support maintenance 
o New York’s fees support Integrated CJ Initiatives 
o Virginia’s fees support the Sex Offender Registry equipment supplies. 
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Table 1: Various fees charged by the state criminal record repository for non-criminal justice purpose record checks 
 
    
     Name Check in state database                   Name Search                    Technical Search  
 Local law  Verified by AFIS search AFIS search AFIS search only  
 enforcement Form submitted  fingerprint If no valid name without prior if prints are not    
State terminal to repository comparison candidates name search going to FBI CJIS       Other  
        
        
Alabama   $25*      $25*  
Alaska $20**       
Arizona  0** $5**    Xi 
Arkansas …* 20*   20*   
California   32/42/52* 32/42/52*   Xii 
        
Colorado        
Connecticut  $0/18/25iii* $0/18/25* $0/18/25* $0/18/25 $0/18/25  
Delaware   30 30    
District of Columbia        
Florida  23iv** 23v    Xvi 
        
Georgia …**  $15** $15**    
Hawaii $10** $15** 25** 25** $25** $25**  
Idaho  10** 10** 10**    
Illinois 0** 10/16*   15/20** 15/20* Xvii 
Indiana 0** 7* 10** 10**  10**  
        
Iowa        
Kansas $5 to $17.50viii $15/$20ix    $20/$30x  
Kentucky        
Louisiana  26* 26*  50* 26* Xxi 
Maine  25* 25* 25* 49xii* 25* Xxiii 
        
Maryland $0** $0 $0  $18 $18 Xxiv 
Massachusetts  15*      
Michigan 0** 10* 30* …* 0*   
Minnesota 0* 0/4/5/8/15xv* 0/8/15n* 0*   Xxvi 
Mississippi 0** 0**   0** 0**  
        
Missouri        
Montana        
Nebraska  $10* $33 $33 $33 $10  
Nevada         $20* 20* 24* 24* 24* 24* Xxvii 
New Hampshire 0** 5/7.5/15*xviii …* …** …** …**  
        
New Jersey $0* $18* …*     
New Mexico  7**      
New York 0* 0*   75  Xxix 
North Carolina 0** 10** 14**    Xxx 
North Dakota  30/3xxi* 30/3     
        
Ohio   $15* $15*    
Oklahoma $0** $15**   $41** $19  
Oregon See comments 
Pennsylvania  10*      
Puerto Rico        
        
Rhode Island $5**  $24**  $24**   
South Carolina 25* $25* 25* $25* 25* …* Xxxii 
South Dakota   15** 15**    
Tennessee  29* 56/48xxiii* 56/48*   Xxxiv 
Texas        
        
Utah  $10* $10**    Xxxv 
Vermont        
Virgin Islands        
Virginia  15/20xxvi*      
Washington 0** 10* 25* 25* 25* 25* Xxxvii 
        
West Virginia        
Wisconsin 5* 7/10/18* 15* 15* 15* 15* Xxxviii 
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Wyoming   15 15   Xxxix 
        
 
 
 
 
Explanatory Notes for Table 1 
 
The notes below expand on the data in Table 1.  The explanatory information was provided by the respondent. 
 
* Some Records Excluded 
 
** All Records Provided 
 
… Not available. 
 
NA   Not applicable. 
 
 
                                                 
i Only a state warrant check, some records excluded, no fee associated.  
ii Application for Visa/Immigration - $32, Petition for Adoption - $32, Record Review - $25. 
iii AFIS FP Searches: $25 for private organizations application search, $0 for state, federal and municipal FP searches.  Just as 
clarification this does not include the $24 fee that applicants are charged for the FBI’s processing fee or the $18 volunteer FBI fee that 
the FBI requires to be collected. 
iv All records are provide with the exceptions of sealed, expunged and certain categories of juvenile records 
v General public and most applicants pay the $23 fee; some are offered by the Legislature a reduced fee of $8 (day care workers, 
juvenile treatment facilities, etc.) and others a reduced fee of $15 (concealed weapon permit applicants). Volunteers are $18.  
vi (1) When FDLE hits on an intelligence record in the hotfiles such as VGTOF or other intel files, the FDLE Office of Statewide 
Intelligence is notified for follow up with the agency entering the record to determine if further action is warranted. (2)  FDLE has end 
to end electronic processing available for fingerprint checks and actually compiles the state and federal record in one bundle returned 
to a secure email server.  This enables electronic processing of fingerprint cards within 48 hours from start to finish.   
vii (1) Submit fingerprint images electronically to FBI for arrest and applicant submissions, all records are provided, the fee is $22.  
   (2) Ability to respond to noncriminal justice agencies electronically via auto fax or email, regardless of whether the submission was 
received electronically or manually, some records are excluded, no fee associated.  
viii The fee for a name Check for Non-Caregiver batch file search is $5, a non caregiver – secure web portal is $17.50, caregiver secure 
web portal is $12.50. 
ix A caregiver fee is $15, a non-caregiver fee is $20. 
x A caregiver fee is $20, a non-caregiver is $30.  
xi Processing Expungement Orders, the fee is $125 
xii $25 – State, 24 – Federal  
xiii State Database -  (1) via Internet or form to repository (State, county or municipal government) Prior approval for non-billable 
account must be obtained from SBI, some records are excluded, no fee associated.  (2) via Internet (not a subscriber), some records are 
excluded, $25, (3) via Internet (out of state subscriber fee), some records are excluded, $25, (4) via Internet (Maine annual subscriber 
fee), some records are excluded, $25. 
xiv For in person record checks or record requests accompanied by fingerprints, a verification is performed through a fingerprint 
comparison 
xv $0 for Public Safety Divisions or other law enforcement agencies, $4 fee for public data requests made via mail, or in person, $5 fee 
for public data requests via the Internet, $8 fee for the subject of the record and charitable non-profits for public/private records, $15 
fee for all others requesting public/private records. 
xvi Applicant Fingerprinting is a $10 fee.  
xvii Firearms Point of Sale, $25 fee, some records are excluded.  
xviii Volunteers with non-profit agencies working with children disabled or elderly are charged $7.50.  Some NH state agencies are 
charged $7.50 (or $5.00 for volunteers).  All Criminal Justice Agencies are fee exempt.   
xix (1) Personal Record Review. $50 fee, all records are provided, (2) Inmate Record Review $0 fee.  
xx North Carolina computerized criminal history database, all records provided.  FBI database if U.S. District Attorney approved law 
or federal mandate through IAFIS.  
xxi $30 for most, $3 for non profit charitable exclusively for the benefit of minors 
xxii Felony flagging, all records are provided.  
xxiii The $56 fee for Applicant Processing includes the $22 FBI fee, our state fee and our vendor fee, the $48 fee is if the applicant 
mails in the fingerprint card, as opposed to using our automated system (vendor). 
xxiv FBI Name Search (QW), some records are excluded 
xxv (1) AFIS search with prior name search, some records are excluded, $15 fee. (2) AFIS search with prior name search then to FBI, 
some records are excluded, $24 fee.  
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xxvi $15 for criminal history or sex offender registry searches, $20 for CCH & SOR searches. 
xxvii (1) Fingerprinting, $10 fee. (2) Record Review/Challenge, no fee associated.  
xxviii (1) State database – request submitted via internet, some records excluded, $2/5/13 fee (2) Caregiver search, some records are  
excluded, fee $2.50.  (3) Daycare search, some records are excluded, fee $2.50. 
xxix Search of NCIC wanted person file, fee $15. 
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Table 2:  Various fees charged by the state criminal record repository for non-criminal justice purpose record checks  
 
                       Fingerprints retained and added  to AFIS database            Applicant processing includes
   No resubmission Single set of     
   of prints by retained prints     
 Rap sheet sent Notification applicant  as  used as the basis Search of    Search of 
 if applicant was of subsequent part of periodic  for notifying State sex Search of state order of  
State subsequently 

arrested  
arrest (no rap 
sheet sent) 

recertification or 
license renewal  

multiple agencies 
of a subsequent  

offender 
registry 

state want/ 
warrant file 

protection 
file 

    arrest    
        
Alabama  …*  …*      
Alaska   $0* $20**    …*  
Arizona       d** d* …** 
Arkansas     …* …*  
California  32/42/52* 32/42/52     
        
Colorado        
Connecticut 0*       
Delaware        
District of Columbia        
Florida …a …b      
        
Georgia        
Hawaii     $10*   
Idaho        
Illinois 0*  $4** $0*    
Indiana        
        
Iowa        
Kansas     0c   
Kentucky        
Louisiana 0* 0  0* 0 0 0 
Maine 25/24*  …* …* 0   
        
Maryland $0* $0* $0*     
Massachusetts        
Michigan        
Minnesota        
Mississippi   5**     
        
Missouri        
Montana        
Nebraska 0 33   $33* $33* $33* 
Nevada     20/24* 20/24/25* 20/24/25* 
New Hampshire    …**    
        
New Jersey $54* $54* $30* $64* $0* $0* $0* 
New Mexico     …**   
New York  …*  …* …* …**  
North Carolina   0**    …**  
North Dakota        
        
Ohio     $15** $15**  
Oklahoma $0**    …**   
Oregon See comments 
Pennsylvania        
Puerto Rico        
        
Rhode Island     5 5 5 
South Carolina     …* …**  
South Dakota     e0* e0*  
Tennessee     …** …** …** 
Texas        
        
Utah $5*  $5   $10/15*  
Vermont        
Virgin Islands        
Virginia …** …**   37**   
Washington     …**   
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West Virginia        
Wisconsin        
Wyoming     15 15 15 
 
 
 
 
Explanatory Notes for Table 2 
 
The notes below expand on the data in Table 2.  The explanatory information was provided by the respondent. 
 
* Some Records Excluded 
 
** All Records Provided 
 
… Not available. 
 
NA   Not applicable. 
 
 
                                                 
a FDLE is retaining prints only as the legislature dictates; prints currently retained on school employees and persons with access to 
secure areas of seaports.  Notifications are sent; not rap. 
b Periodic submission to the FBI of retained prints expected without resubmission of prints 
c This Kansas Offender Registry is synchronized to our CCH.  Thus, our rapsheets note registered offender status.  
d The $5 fee for non-criminal justice purpose record checks in Arizona listed in Table 1 includes a search of the criminal history 
database, state sex offender registry and state warrant database. 
e South Dakota – searches of sex offender registry and state want and warrant file are conducted on a limited basis (sex offender registry 
for school related checks and warrant file for gaming 
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Table 3:  Various functions, services, and activities that are supported by fees charged by the state criminal record repository for non-criminal 
justice purpose record checks.  
 
     
   Repository or agencies  
 All fees go to the Some fees go to the   That are supported by Other fee supported 
State state’s general fund state’s general fund   All or some fees* expense  
     
     
Alabama   1, 11,12,13,14  
Alaska  X 1,2,4,5,9,10,11,13,15  
Arizona   10  
Arkansas X  1,2,3,4,5,8,9,10  
California   1,2,3,4,5,9,10,11,12,13,14,15  
     
Colorado     
Connecticut X    
Delaware  X 1  
District of Columbia     
Florida   1,2,3,6,7,8,9,10,11,12,13,14  
     
Georgia X    
Hawaii   1,2,10 Xa 
Idaho   1,3,5,10b,12,13,14  
Illinois   1,2,6,9,11, Xc 
Indiana X    
     
Iowa     
Kansas     
Kentucky     
Louisiana   1,3,4,5,10 Xd 
Maine  X 1,3,12  
     
Maryland X    
Massachusetts X    
Michigan  X 1,6,10 Xe 
Minnesota  X 1,2,4,5,6,8,9,10  
Mississippi     
     
Missouri     
Montana     
Nebraska   1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10,11,12,13,14  
Nevada   1,2,3,4,5,6,8,9,10,13,14,15  
New Hampshire   1,2,4,8,11,12,13,14  
     
New Jersey   1,2,11,12,13,14  
New Mexico     
New York  X 12,14,15 Xf 
North Carolina X  1,2  
North Dakota X    
     
Ohio   1,10  
Oklahoma   1,2,4,5,6,7,8,9,10,11,12,13,14  
Oregon   1,4,5,6,10,11,12,13,14 Xg 
Pennsylvania X    
Puerto Rico     
     
Rhode Island X    
South Carolina  X   
South Dakota   1,3,4,10,11,12  
Tennessee   1,2,4,10,11,12,13,14  
Texas     
     
Utah  X 1,4,5,6,11,12  
Vermont     
Virgin Islands     
Virginia  X 2,3 Xh 
Washington  X 1,3,4,5,9,10,11,12,13,14  
     
West Virginia     
Wisconsin  X 1,2,9  
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Wyoming X    
     
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Explanatory Notes for Table 3 
 
The notes below expand on the data in Table 3.  The explanatory information was provided by the respondent. 
 
 
* 1 Identification/criminal history operations staff 
 2 IT Staff 
 3 Sex offender registry staff 
 4 Trainers (within agency) 
 5 Trainers/field personnel who provide services to other agencies 
 6 National Instant Checks (NICS)/State firearms licensing staff 
 7 NCIC staff 
 8 UCR/NIBRS staff 
 9 Audit staff 
 10 Other repository/agency staff  
 11 AFIS Maintenance 
 12 AFIS Upgrades 
 13 Livescan maintenance 
 14 Livescan upgrades  
 15 Statewide Law Enforcement Information Network 
 
 
                                                 
a Consultant work, CJIS, LAN, and Computer hardware/software 
b Missing Person’s Clearinghouse 
c Commodities/Printing, Equipment, Personnel Services, Contractual Obligations, Travel 
d All expenses of the Bureau 
e Other maintenance  
f Integrated CJ Initiatives 
g Specific program software applications/maintenance, Waived fees for non criminal justice volunteer employee checks (NCPA-VCA) 
h SOR equipment supplies,  
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Compact Council User Fee Survey (Part 1) 
 

Instructions:  This form is intended to identify the various fees charged by your state criminal record 
repository for non-criminal justice purpose records checks and the services that correspond to each fee.  
Please insert the $ amount of each fee your state repository charges for access/search of state records, 
indicate whether all records are provided or whether some records are not released (i.e., restricted by state 
law, not fingerprint based, juvenile information, etc.) and check the boxes that correspond to the services 
provided for that fee.   

     
Fees Service Provided 

 

None 
 

$   $ $ 

Name Check:   
      State database –  via local law enforcement terminal          
      State database – form submitted to repository       
Name  Search:   
      Candidates verified by fingerprint comparison       
      Technical AFIS search if no valid name candidates       
Technical Search:  
       AFIS search without prior name search       
       AFIS search only if prints not going to FBI CJIS       
Fingerprints Retained and Added to AFIS database:  
       Rap sheet sent if applicant subsequently arrested       
       Notification of subsequent arrest (no rap sheet sent)       
       No resubmission of prints by applicant as part of 
periodic recertification or license renewal  

      

        A single set of retained prints can be used as the 
basis for notifying multiple agencies of a subsequent 
arrest 

      

Applicant processing includes:  
       Search of state sex offender registry       
       Search of state want/warrant file       
       Search of state order of protection file       
Other Services:       
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Compact Council User Fee Survey (Part 2) 
 

Instructions:  This form is intended to identify the various functions, services, and activities that are 
supported by fees charged by your state criminal records repository for non-criminal justice purpose 
records checks.  Please check all that apply. 

     
All fees go to the state’s general fund  
Some fees go the state’s general fund      
All or some fees go to support the following repository or repository agency 
expenses:     

 

    Identification/criminal history operations staff  
    IT staff  
    Sex offender registry staff    
    Trainers (within agency)  
    Trainers/field personnel who provide services to other agencies  
    National Instant Check (NICS)/State firearms licensing staff  
    NCIC staff  
    UCR/NIBRS staff       
    Audit Staff  
    Other repository/agency staff  
    AFIS Maintenance  
    AFIS Upgrades  
  
    Livescan Maintenance      
    Live can Upgrades  
    Statewide Law Enforcement Information Network  
Other fee-supported expenses:  
  
  
  
  
  

 
 




