Candice M. Will

Assistant Director, Office of Professional Responsibility

Candice M. Will was appointed by Director Mueller to be the Assistant Director of the Office of Professional Responsibility (OPR) in August 2004.

Will received her B.A. from the University of New Mexico and her J.D. from St. Louis University. After practicing law for several years in Santa Fe, New Mexico, first with a private firm and later as an Assistant Attorney General in the New Mexico Attorney General’s Office, Ms. Will served as a staff attorney for the U.S. District Court for the Eastern District of Pennsylvania in Philadelphia.

In May 1988, Ms. Will began her career at the U.S. Department of Justice in Washington, D.C. For several years, she was a trial attorney in the Tax Division’s Western Civil Trial Section, appearing before the federal courts in Idaho, Arizona, and Nevada. Ms. Will then became the Civil Chief of the U.S. Attorney’s Office for the District of Nevada. In May 1992, Ms. Will was appointed Deputy Chief of the General Litigation Section of the Criminal Division at Main Justice, serving under then Assistant Attorney General Robert S. Mueller.

In June 1994, Ms. Will became an Assistant Counsel in the Justice Department’s Office of Professional Responsibility. During her nine-year tenure at Department of Justice OPR, Ms. Will conducted more than 100 investigations of the Department’s senior management, attorneys, and agents.

In September 2003, Ms. Will joined the FBI’s Office of General Counsel, National Security Law Branch (NSLB). While at NSLB, Ms. Will completed a detail to the Justice Department’s Office of Intelligence Policy and Review (OIPR), where she represented the government before the Foreign Intelligence Surveillance Act (FISA) Court.

In August 2004, Director Mueller appointed Ms. Will the Assistant Director of the Office of Professional Responsibility. Under her leadership, OPR has eliminated its backlog, clarified its processes, and forged stronger relationships with internal and external entities, including the Office of Inspector General and Congressional oversight committees.