Home About Us Executives Kortan


Michael P. Kortan – Assistant Director, Office of Public Affairs

Mr. Kortan currently serves as the assistant director of the Office of Public Affairs. In this position, he manages the FBI’s public affairs operation and serves as a national spokesman. He oversees the Bureau’s national media relations and public affairs officers in field offices; manages the application of FBI and Department of Justice policies and guidelines related to all communications matters; and interacts daily with national and international news media on issues related to the FBI.

In addition, he directs other public affairs functions, such as the FBI’s Internet website, speechwriting, community relations, and employee communications.

From 1996 through 2000, Mr. Kortan served as chief of the International Relations Unit in the Criminal Investigative Division, where he was responsible for the oversight of the Bureau’s legal attaché offices based in U.S. Embassies around the world. He was also involved in policy development; program review of legal attaché office operations; implementation of the FBI’s overseas expansion plan; and liaison with Headquarters’ divisions and field offices, the Departments of Justice and State, and foreign law enforcement representatives in the Washington, D.C. area.

From 1992 through 1996, Mr. Kortan was chief of the National Press Office at Headquarters, overseeing day-to-day relationships with the news media and other public affairs operations.

After completing New Agents Training at the FBI Academy in Quantico, Virginia in 1984, Mr. Kortan was assigned to the Kansas City, Missouri field office, where he investigated a range of violations of federal law and served as the news media representative.

Prior to joining the FBI, Mr. Kortan served as a spokesperson and congressional liaison in the public affairs division of a national labor union. He also worked in the U.S. House of Representatives as a legislative and press assistant.

Director James B. Comey
Deputy Director Mark F. Giuliano
Associate Deputy Director Kevin L. Perkins
Chief of Staff/Senior CounselorChuck Rosenberg
Deputy Chief of StaffJim Rybicki

Office of the Director/Deputy Director/Associate Deputy Director
- Inspection Division – Nancy McNamara
- Facilities and Logistics Services Division – Richard L. Haley, II
- Finance Division – Richard L. Haley, II
- Office of Congressional Affairs – Stephen D. Kelly
- Office of EEO Affairs – Kevin M. Walker
- Office of the General Counsel – James A. Baker
- Office of Integrity and Compliance – Patrick W. Kelley
- Office of National Policy - Sasha Cohen O’Connell
- Office of the Ombudsman – Monique A. Bookstein
- Office of Professional Responsibility – Candice M. Will
- Office of Public Affairs – Michael P. Kortan
- Records Management Division – Michelle Ann Jupina
- Resource Planning Office – David Schlendorf
- Deputy Associate Deputy Director - Andrew James Castor

Executive Assistant Directors and Assistant Directors

National Security Branch
- Executive Assistant DirectorJohn Giacalone
- Counterintelligence Division – Randall C. Coleman
- Counterterrorism Division – Michael Steinbach
- Terrorist Screening Center - Christopher M. Piehota
- Weapons of Mass Destruction Directorate – John G. Perren

Intelligence Branch
- Executive Assistant Director - Eric Velez-Villar
- Directorate of Intelligence - Rafael J. Garcia, Jr.
- Office of Partner Engagement - Kerry Sleeper

Criminal, Cyber, Response, and Services Branch
- Executive Assistant DirectorRobert Anderson, Jr.
- Criminal Investigative Division – Joseph S. Campbell
- Critical Incident Response Group – James F. Yacone
- Cyber Division – Joseph M. Demarest, Jr.
- International Operations Division – John Boles
- Office for Victim Assistance - Kathryn Turman

Human Resources Branch

- Executive Assistant Director Valerie Parlave
- Human Resources Division – James L. Turgal, Jr.
- Security Division – Alex J. Turner
- Training Division – Owen D. Harris

Science and Technology Branch

- Executive Assistant Director Amy S. Hess
- Criminal Justice Information Services Division – Stephen L. Morris
- Laboratory Division – Christopher Todd Doss
- Operational Technology Division – Stephen E. Richardson

Information and Technology Branch
- Executive Assistant Director and CIOJerome M. Pender
- Associate EAD and Deputy Chief Information Officer – Dean E. Hall
- IT Applications and Data Division - Jeffrey C. Johnson
- IT Customer Relationship and Mgmt. DivisionJennifer R. Sanchez
- IT Infrastructure Division – Brian A. Truchon