November 13, 2014

FBI Boston Presents 2014 Director’s Community Leadership Award to James Geraghty

Special Agent in Charge Vincent B. Lisi is pleased to announce the selection of Mr. James Geraghty as the Boston Field Office’s recipient of the 2014 FBI Director’s Community Leadership Award. SAC Lisi congratulated and honored Mr. Geraghty at the United Teen Equality Center (UTEC) in Lowell, Massachusetts on Wednesday, November 12, 2014.

The Director’s Community Leadership Award was established in 1990 as a way to honor individuals and organizations for their efforts in engaging the community in the areas of education and crime prevention. Every year, the Boston Division of the FBI has the opportunity to select an individual or organization that has made a significant difference in the lives of others.

Mr. Geraghty is very successful in the business world, but his greatest passion is working with disadvantaged youth and giving back to the community. He currently serves as a board member and chair of the Advisory Committee for the United Teen Equality Center, which was founded in 1999 as a result of an organizing movement by young people to develop their own teen center in response to gang violence. Geraghty has mentored over 25 young people by providing them with the life skills needed to go out on their own. His work has created strong liaison partnerships with community leaders, educators, law enforcement professionals, and others. He also serves on the board of directors at the RFK Children’s Action Corps, which is a national leader in developing and implementing child welfare and juvenile justice programs.

SAC Lisi said, “Mr. Geraghty has touched numerous young lives and his tireless work in mentoring at-risk youth has helped them trade violence and poverty for social and economic success. His commitment and partnership with the FBI make him the Boston recipient of the 2014 Director’s Community Leadership Award.”

Mr. Geraghty will attend a formal ceremony in April 2015 in Washington, D.C., where he, along with recipients from across the country, will be presented with the award by FBI Director James B. Comey.