FBI Richmond
Public Affairs Specialist Dennette Rybiski
(804) 261-1044
May 8, 2023

FBI Honors Community Leader with Director’s Community Leadership Award

On May 5, 2023, FBI Director Christopher Wray hosted the 2022 Director’s Community Leadership Award (DCLA) winners in a special ceremony at FBI Headquarters, emphasizing the importance of partnerships in keeping our shared communities safe. These partnerships—as exemplified by the breadth of the work by the DCLA recipients—have led to a host of crime prevention programs that protect the most vulnerable in our communities, educate families and businesses about cyber threats, and work to reduce violent crime in our neighborhoods.

Special Agent in Charge Stanley M. Meador is pleased to announce that Dr. Zoe Spencer-Harris was presented a 2022 DCLA by Director Wray during this ceremony.

Dr. Spencer-Harris, a sociology professor at Virginia State University (VSU), is also a social activist who educates the community on civil rights and advocates for forward progress. Under Dr. Spencer-Harris’ innovative direction, VSU established the Center of Policing Leadership and Social Justice (The Center), the first of its kind among Historically Black Colleges and Universities. Her collaborative work at The Center facilitates dialogue between diverse communities and law enforcement to promote understanding and transparency. Throughout 2022, Dr. Spencer-Harris led numerous student, community, and law enforcement roundtables on civil rights, hate crimes, and color of law issues. Dr. Spencer-Harris’ vision has helped develop strategies for addressing crime in a way that prioritizes civil rights.

The FBI established the DCLA in 1990 to publicly acknowledge the achievements of those working to make a difference in their communities through the promotion of education and the prevention of crime and violence. Annually, the FBI’s 56 field offices select recipients for this honor.

Learn more about:

FBI Richmond 2022 Director’s Community Leadership Award recipient Dr. Zoe Spencer-Harris.