U.S. Attorney’s Office
District of Kansas
(316) 269-6481
February 19, 2015

Federal Indictment: Atchinson Man Kidnapped Child

KANSAS CITY, KS—An Atchison man has been indicted on federal charges of kidnapping a child, U.S. Attorney Barry Grissom said today.

Marcas McGowan, 30, Atchison, Kan., was charged Wednesday in U.S. District Court in Kansas City, Kan., with one count of kidnapping a child, one count of discharging a firearm during the kidnapping, one count of unlawfully possessing a firearm following a felony conviction, and one count of unlawful possession of a firearm following a misdemeanor domestic violence conviction.

Assistant U.S. Attorney Scott Rask and Leavenworth County Attorney Todd Thompson will be prosecuting the case. Mr. Thompson has been designated as a Special Assistant U.S. Attorney.

“This is a very serious case and my office will be working closely with the Leavenworth County Attorney to see that it gets the attention it deserves,” U.S. Attorney Barry Grissom said.

“My office has always had a great working relationship with U.S. Attorney Barry Grissom and his staff, so I appreciate the opportunity to work with them to pursue this matter federally,” said Leavenworth County Attorney Todd Thompson. “My office always strives for what is in the best interest of the Leavenworth community, and will continue to do so through our collaboration with the U.S. Attorney’s office.”

The federal indictment alleges that on July 18, 2014, McGowan kidnapped a minor victim. He traveled from Kansas to Missouri and back to Kansas with the child.

Upon conviction, the crimes carry the following penalties:

Kidnapping: Not less than 20 years and not more than life and a fine up to $250,000.

Discharging a firearm in a crime of violence: Not less than 10 years and not more than life, consecutive to any other sentence, and a fine up to $250,000.

Unlawful possession of a firearm following a felony conviction: A maximum penalty of 10 years and a fine up to $250,000.

Unlawful possession of a firearm following a misdemeanor conviction for domestic violence: A maximum penalty of 10 years and a fine up to $250,000.

The Atchison Police Department, the Platte County (Mo.) Sheriff’s Office, the Weston (Mo.) Police Department, the Leavenworth Police Department, the Kansas Bureau of Investigation and the FBI investigated.

This content has been reproduced from its original source.