Home Anchorage Press Releases 2010 Law Enforcement Team Receives Department of Justice Award for Prosecution of Murderer Joshua Alan Wade

Law Enforcement Team Receives Department of Justice Award for Prosecution of Murderer Joshua Alan Wade

U.S. Attorney’s Office December 09, 2010
  • District of Alaska (907) 271-5071

ANCHORAGE—The Department of Justice held its 27th annual Executive Office for United States Attorneys (EOUSA) Director’s Awards Ceremony in Washington, D.C. on December 8, 2010, during which 159 award recipients from more than 45 districts were recognized for their dedication to carrying out the mission of the Department of Justice. Among the award recipients was the Alaska law enforcement team responsible for the federal conviction of murderer Joshua Alan Wade. Recipients included Assistant United States Attorneys, law enforcement agents, litigation teams and others who have made outstanding contributions in federal, state and local law enforcement.

"These award recipients have been honored for their service and dedication to our country, as well as to their local communities," said Attorney General Eric Holder. "Each of these committed public servants has helped to advance the Justice Department’s critical work. Their contributions have had a powerful impact in ensuring the strength of our justice system, the security of our communities, and the promise of our democracy."

United States Attorney Karen Loeffler attended the ceremony. "While nothing can replace the violent loss of two of our Alaska citizens, I believe justice is well served by this result," she said. "I am very proud of the dedication and efforts of this team that worked tirelessly to bring Mr. Wade to justice. As a result of their work, the public will be protected from Mr. Wade forever, and hopefully, the outcome of this case brought some closure and comfort to the grieving families and friends of Mindy Schloss and Della Brown."

The successful Wade prosecution was the result of cooperative investigative efforts among the Anchorage Police Department, the Federal Bureau of Investigation, and federal prosecutors. The Director’s Award recognized the following eleven litigation team members for their superior performance in bringing convicted murderer Joshua Wade to justice:

  • Assistant United States Attorney Steven E. Skrocki
  • Assistant United States Attorney Stephen Cooper
  • U.S. Attorney’s Office Victim Witness Coordinator Traci D. Ross
  • U.S. Attorney’s Office Paralegal Danielle M. Newberry
  • FBI Special Agent Jolene A. Goeden
  • FBI Special Agent Michael A. Thoreson
  • FBI Special Agent Susan L. Cusack
  • FBI Victim Witness Coordinator Anne E. Darr
  • Anchorage Police Department Detective Pamela L. Perrenoud
  • Anchorage Police Department Detective Timothy E. Landeis
  • DOJ Capital Case Unit Trial Attorney Richard E. Burns
This content has been reproduced from its original source.