Home About Us Partnerships and Outreach Community Outreach DCLA 2010 San Juan, Puerto Rico

San Juan, Puerto Rico

2010 Director’s Community Leadership Awards

San Juan
Carlos McCormack
Carlos McCormack

In San Juan, Carlos McCormack works as the co-founder of Proyecto Sin Paredes, Inc., a non-profit organization dedicated to serving adults with disabilities.

For more than 18 years, Proyecto Sin Paredes has touched the lives of many adults with disabilities, acting as an instrumental force in providing educational programs on violence prevention, discrimination laws, the Americans with Disabilities Act, and other topics.

This year, Proyecto Sin Paredres invited the FBI San Juan office to participate in their summer camp.

Mr. McCormack, a 2009 FBI Citizens’ Academy Alumni member, remains committed to supporting the FBI by increasing public awareness as well as the safety of the community.

As an organization, Proyecto Sin Paredes contributes to the well-being and quality of life of its members by espousing the philosophy that there are no limitations to how far one can go.

Having participated as a volunteer for the Muscular Dystrophy Association from a young age, Mr. McCormack has been a long-standing advocate for community awareness of the civil rights of people with disabilities.

High resolution image

FBI Director Recognizes
Distinguished Community Leaders
DCLA 2010

In a ceremony at FBI Headquarters, Director Robert S. Mueller, III recognized the recipients of the 2010 Director’s Community Leadership Award. These leaders, selected by their area FBI field office, have demonstrated outstanding contributions to their local communities through service. The FBI is grateful for the work of each of these individuals and organizations on behalf of their communities.

“Whatever the motivation—an unfilled need, a tragic occurrence, a desire to give back—these are people who make things happen and enlist others in their cause,” said Director Mueller. “They are activists who have earned their prestige through good works.”

Recipients of the 2010 Director’s Community Leadership Award include:

- Albany
- Albuquerque
- Anchorage
- Atlanta
- Baltimore
- Birmingham
- Boston
- Buffalo
- Charlotte
- Chicago
- Cincinnati
- Cleveland
- Columbia
- Dallas
- Denver
- Detroit
- El Paso
- Honolulu
- Houston
- Indianapolis
- Jackson
- Jacksonville
- Kansas City
- Knoxville
- Little Rock
- Los Angeles
- Louisville
- Memphis

- Milwaukee
- Minneapolis
- Mobile
New Haven
- New Orleans
- New York
- Newark
- Norfolk

- Oklahoma City
- Omaha
- Philadelphia
- Phoenix
- Pittsburgh
- Portland
- Richmond
- Sacramento
- Salt Lake City
- San Antonio
- San Diego
- San Francisco
- San Juan
- Seattle
- Springfield
- St. Louis
- Tampa
- Washington Field
Office of Public Affairs 1 | 2 | 3

Read related story on 2010 Director’s Community Leadership Awards ceremony