Home About Us History Directors, Then and Now Floyd I. Clarke

Floyd I. Clarke

Floyd I. Clarke

Floyd I. Clarke
Acting Director
July 19, 1993 - September 1, 1993

On July 19, 1993, Floyd I. Clarke assumed the duties of Acting Director of the FBI. He served in this capacity until September 1, 1993.

Mr. Clarke was born in Phoenix, Arizona, where he spent his early life. After attending George Washington University, Mr. Clarke joined the FBI in 1964. As a special agent, Mr. Clarke worked in the Birmingham, Boston, Philadelphia, and Kansas City Divisions, as well as at FBI Headquarters.

During his career in the Bureau, Mr. Clarke held the position of supervisor, assistant special agent in charge, special agent in charge, assistant director, executive assistant director, deputy director and, last, Acting Director.

Directors, Then and Now

- James B. Comey, 2013-Present
- Robert S. Mueller, III, 2001-2013
- Thomas J. Pickard (acting), 2001
- Louis J. Freeh, 1993-2001
- Floyd I. Clarke (acting), 1993
- William S. Sessions, 1987-1993
- John E. Otto (acting), 1987
- William H. Webster, 1978-1987
- James B. Adams (acting), 1978
- Clarence M. Kelley, 1973-1978
- William D. Ruckelshaus (acting), 1973
- L. Patrick Gray (acting), 1972-1973
- J. Edgar Hoover, 1924-1972
- William J. Burns, 1921-1924
- William J. Flynn, 1919-1921
- William E. Allen (acting), 1919
- Alexander B. Bielaski, 1912-1919
- Stanley W. Finch, 1908-1912

‪The FBI Director:
Background on the Position‬
‪Since its beginning in 1908, the FBI has been led by a single individual. At first called “Chief,” this leader has been titled “Director” since the term of William Flynn (1919-1921). The FBI Director has answered directly to the attorney general since the 1920s.‬ ‪Under the Omnibus Crime Control Act and Safe Streets Act of 1968, Public Law 90-3351, the Director is appointed by the U.S. President and confirmed by the Senate. On October 15, 1976, in reaction to the extraordinary 48-year term of J. Edgar Hoover, Congress passed Public Law 94-503, limiting the FBI Director to a single term of no longer than 10 years. ‪Details