Home About Us Executives Velez-Villar


Eric Velez-Villar – Executive Assistant Director
Intelligence Branch

In August 2014, Director James Comey named Eric Velez-Villar executive assistant director of the FBI’s Intelligence Branch. Mr. Velez most recently served as assistant director of the Directorate of Intelligence.

Mr. Velez-Villar joined the FBI in 1985 working in the San Juan Division and became a special agent in 1992. He was first assigned to the San Antonio Field Office, where he worked organized crime and drug matters, and then returned to the San Juan Field Office, where he investigated public corruption. In 2000, Mr. Velez-Villar was promoted to FBI Headquarters as a supervisory special agent and was detailed to the Drug Enforcement Administration’s Special Operations Division, coordinating major drug trafficking investigations throughout the United States. In 2002, he transferred to the Los Angeles Field Office, supervising organized crime and drug matters and the Joint Terrorism Task Force. In 2004, he was promoted to assistant special agent in charge of the counterterrorism program in the same office. In 2006, Mr. Velez-Villar was appointed deputy director of the Terrorist Screening Center in Washington, D.C., and in 2008, he went back to the Los Angeles Field Office as the special agent in charge of the newly created Intelligence Division. In September 2009, Mr. Velez-Villar was named the deputy assistant director for the Directorate of Intelligence; he was appointed the assistant director of the Directorate of Intelligence in January 2012.

Mr. Velez-Villar was a recipient of the 2008 Attorney General’s Award for Distinguished Service and a 2011 recipient of the Presidential Rank Award—the nation’s highest civil service award.

Director James B. Comey
Deputy Director Mark F. Giuliano
Associate Deputy Director Kevin L. Perkins
Chief of Staff/Senior CounselorChuck Rosenberg
Deputy Chief of StaffJim Rybicki

Office of the Director/Deputy Director/Associate Deputy Director
- Inspection Division – Nancy McNamara
- Facilities and Logistics Services Division – Richard L. Haley, II
- Finance Division – Richard L. Haley, II
- Office of Congressional Affairs – Stephen D. Kelly
- Office of EEO Affairs – Kevin M. Walker
- Office of the General Counsel – James A. Baker
- Office of Integrity and Compliance – Patrick W. Kelley
- Office of National Policy - Sasha Cohen O’Connell
- Office of the Ombudsman – Monique A. Bookstein
- Office of Professional Responsibility – Candice M. Will
- Office of Public Affairs – Michael P. Kortan
- Records Management Division – Michelle Ann Jupina
- Resource Planning Office – David Schlendorf
- Deputy Associate Deputy Director - Andrew James Castor

Executive Assistant Directors and Assistant Directors

National Security Branch
- Executive Assistant DirectorJohn Giacalone
- Counterintelligence Division – Randall C. Coleman
- Counterterrorism Division – Michael Steinbach
- Terrorist Screening Center - Christopher M. Piehota
- Weapons of Mass Destruction Directorate – John G. Perren

Intelligence Branch
- Executive Assistant Director - Eric Velez-Villar
- Directorate of Intelligence - Rafael J. Garcia, Jr.
- Office of Partner Engagement - Kerry Sleeper

Criminal, Cyber, Response, and Services Branch
- Executive Assistant DirectorRobert Anderson, Jr.
- Criminal Investigative Division – Joseph S. Campbell
- Critical Incident Response Group – James F. Yacone
- Cyber Division – Joseph M. Demarest, Jr.
- International Operations Division – John Boles
- Office for Victim Assistance - Kathryn Turman

Human Resources Branch

- Executive Assistant Director Valerie Parlave
- Human Resources Division – James L. Turgal, Jr.
- Security Division – Alex J. Turner
- Training Division – Owen D. Harris

Science and Technology Branch

- Executive Assistant Director Amy S. Hess
- Criminal Justice Information Services Division – Stephen L. Morris
- Laboratory Division – Christopher Todd Doss
- Operational Technology Division – Stephen E. Richardson

Information and Technology Branch
- Executive Assistant Director and CIOJerome M. Pender
- Associate EAD and Deputy Chief Information Officer – Dean E. Hall
- IT Applications and Data Division - Jeffrey C. Johnson
- IT Customer Relationship and Mgmt. DivisionJennifer R. Sanchez
- IT Infrastructure Division – Brian A. Truchon