Home About Us Executives Hall


Dean E. Hall Associate Executive Assistant Director and Deputy Chief Information Officer

Mr. Dean E. Hall is the Deputy Chief Information Officer and Associate Executive Assistant Director of the FBI’s Information and Technology Branch. Prior He has held this position since January 2007. He serves as the principal advisor to the Executive Assistant Director and Chief Information Officer in terms of the FBI’s overall information technology (IT) mission, to include IT strategic planning, fiscal management, and day-to-day operations.

Mr. Hall entered federal service in 1983 with the CIA where he served a variety of tours. His CIA career experiences include the successful management of multiple complex projects requiring extensive large-scale technical acquisitions and budget and planning experience. While at the CIA, he served as the Chief Scientist for Information Security.

Mr. Hall’s CIA career also included a rotational assignment in the National Reconnaissance Office (NRO) where he was the former Chief of the Facility and Information Security Division and was responsible for overseeing the NRO’s physical, technical, and information security programs.

Mr. Hall was detailed to the FBI from the CIA in April 2002 to establish the FBI’s Information Assurance Program and was officially transferred to the FBI in May 2003. He established an effective FBI-wide certification and accreditation program. He provided a protected wireless service in support of continuity of operations to the FBI’s most senior leadership. Mr. Hall also delivered an enterprise-wide encryption tool for the sensitive-but-unclassified/law enforcement environment and deployed an enterprise-wide public key infrastructure.

In September 2005, Mr. Hall was appointed as the FBI’s Program Management Executive, Office of IT Program Management, responsible for establishing a disciplined program management office and managing the FBI’s IT projects.

In July 2006, CIO Magazine named Mr. Hall as “One of the Top 20 Leaders to Watch.” In 2007, he received the Presidential Rank Award for Meritorious Executive for his significant contributions to the FBI’s IT management, including a Project Management career ladder and certifying more than 50 project managers in one year.

Mr. Hall holds an electrical engineering degree from the George Washington University in Washington, D.C. and has taken graduate studies in systems engineering and engineering management.


Director James B. Comey
Deputy Director Mark F. Giuliano
Associate Deputy Director Kevin L. Perkins
Chief of Staff/Senior CounselorChuck Rosenberg
Deputy Chief of StaffJim Rybicki

Office of the Director/Deputy Director/Associate Deputy Director
- Inspection Division – Nancy McNamara
- Facilities and Logistics Services Division – Richard L. Haley, II
- Finance Division – Richard L. Haley, II
- Office of Congressional Affairs – Stephen D. Kelly
- Office of EEO Affairs – Kevin M. Walker
- Office of the General Counsel – James A. Baker
- Office of Integrity and Compliance – Patrick W. Kelley
- Office of National Policy - Sasha Cohen O’Connell
- Office of the Ombudsman – Monique A. Bookstein
- Office of Professional Responsibility – Candice M. Will
- Office of Public Affairs – Michael P. Kortan
- Records Management Division – Michelle Ann Jupina
- Resource Planning Office – David Schlendorf
- Deputy Associate Deputy Director - Andrew James Castor

Executive Assistant Directors and Assistant Directors

National Security Branch
- Executive Assistant DirectorJohn Giacalone
- Counterintelligence Division – Randall C. Coleman
- Counterterrorism Division – Michael Steinbach
- Terrorist Screening Center - Christopher M. Piehota
- Weapons of Mass Destruction Directorate – John G. Perren

Intelligence Branch
- Executive Assistant Director - Eric Velez-Villar
- Directorate of Intelligence - Rafael J. Garcia, Jr.
- Office of Partner Engagement - Kerry Sleeper

Criminal, Cyber, Response, and Services Branch
- Executive Assistant DirectorRobert Anderson, Jr.
- Criminal Investigative Division – Joseph S. Campbell
- Critical Incident Response Group – James F. Yacone
- Cyber Division – Joseph M. Demarest, Jr.
- International Operations Division – John Boles
- Office for Victim Assistance - Kathryn Turman

Human Resources Branch

- Executive Assistant Director Valerie Parlave
- Human Resources Division – James L. Turgal, Jr.
- Security Division – Alex J. Turner
- Training Division – Owen D. Harris

Science and Technology Branch

- Executive Assistant Director Amy S. Hess
- Criminal Justice Information Services Division – Stephen L. Morris
- Laboratory Division – Christopher Todd Doss
- Operational Technology Division – Stephen E. Richardson

Information and Technology Branch
- Executive Assistant Director and CIOJerome M. Pender
- Associate EAD and Deputy Chief Information Officer – Dean E. Hall
- IT Applications and Data Division - Jeffrey C. Johnson
- IT Customer Relationship and Mgmt. DivisionJennifer R. Sanchez
- IT Infrastructure Division – Brian A. Truchon